Welcome to Heathbrook’s page for Special Education Needs (SEN) and Disabilities.

At Heathbrook we understand that all children are individuals and their journeys will be unique. Children’s individual needs are addressed and a range of interventions are run throughout the school. Examples of these interventions include speech and language groups, ‘Words First, lego therapy and ‘Toe by Toe’. Your child’s class teacher will inform you if your child is receiving a specific intervention by letter at parent partnership meetings.

Your child’s class teacher is the first point of call if you have any concerns regarding their learning. However, we also have a committed Inclusion team to help support the children at Heathbrook. If you would like to contact a member of this team please do so through the school office or email them.

  • Lucy Slater is our SENCO (Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator) – lslater@heathbrook.lambeth.sch.uk
  • Frances Greenburgh is our Inclusion Manager and Assistant Headteacher – fgreenburgh@heathbrook.lambeth.sch.uk
  • Mary Matthews is our SEN and Dyslexia teacher –amatthews4.208@lgflmail.org
  • Stephanie White is our Pastoral Support & Safeguarding Manager – swhite158.208@lgflmail.org
  • Anne O’Donnell is our Emotional Literacy Support Assistant (ELSA)

 

We also work closely with outside agencies that regularly come in to school to support individual children in many different ways. These professionals include:

  • Nushin Burton – Speech and Language Therapist
  • Natoya Ivey – Educational Psychologist
  • Lois Terry – ASD Advisory teacher

In addition to the information you will find in our school SEND policy you may also find the links below useful.

Links

Lambeth Offer for children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) http://www.younglambeth.org/local-offer/landing-pages/local-offer.html

For children and young people with SEND http://www.younglambeth.org/local-offer/useful-links/what-are-education-health-and-care-ehc-plans.html

Childcare, Pre-School and Early years provision http://www.younglambeth.org/local-offer/landing-pages/childcare-pre-school-and-early-years-provision.html

Information about schools and education provision for school age children with SEND http://www.younglambeth.org/local-offer/landing-pages/schools-and-education-5-16.html

Lambeth Community Speech and Language Service https://www.evelinalondon.nhs.uk/our-services/community/community-speech-and-language-therapy/overview.aspx

The Communication Trust; supporting children with speech, language and communication needs http://www.thecommunicationtrust.org.uk/redirect/localoffer/

Community Occupational Therapy https://www.evelinalondon.nhs.uk/our-services/community/community-occupational-therapy/overview.aspx

National Autistic Society (NAS); supporting families of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) http://naslambethbranch.webeden.co.uk/

Family Lives; supporting families. http://www.familylives.org.uk/how-we-can-help/in-your-area/london-and-the-southern-home-counties/

Clapham Dyslexia Group: an informal group for parents and carers of children with dyslexia, dyspraxia and speech and language needs. Contact: sgreaves@yahoo.co.uk (07808067475) or claphamdyslexiagroup@gmail.com